|Favourites of 2016|

Happy NEW YEAR!
In honor of the coming year of 2017 *holds thumbs for it to be better than 2016*, I thought I’d do the usual bookish post where I write down all my favorite books that I’ve read in 2016 :-))
In the year of 2016, I have read a total of 31 amazing books, which made my Reading Challenge of 30 books completed.
Let’s get right to it ;D

(These aren’t in any particular order since I’m a huge bookworm and can’t choose just one to be in the first place)

  • The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128

Such a fantastic read! Jumping into this I expected it to be the cheesy “oh alien invasion” “oh they could be anyone don’t trust anyone”, but it turned out so much more than that. Cassie isn’t one of those ignorant spoiled girls who act totally irrational, she was so brave by allowing herself to see her fears and struggles while facing them and not letting them crush her. I loved the setting of the novel and the characters and it gave such a realistic picture. The whole plot has, in my opinion, some very original parts and twist which just made the whole journey less predictable.
Definitely, something I’d recommend if you’re a YA dystopian sci-fi fan!

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

19063

DON’T GET ME STARTED ON THIS ONE.
This book is just so beautiful and tragic and original and it became my ALL TIME favorite. I could read it like 10 times and still enjoy it.
Liesel and all the characters are so lovable and so well constructed and developed.
Death’s perspective and way of telling emerged me so into the story, and the book crushed me.

I would not recommend it if you hate slow pace, cause this book is very slow paced for its so many stories and descriptions (which the author doesn’t overdo at all!). It’s just the way the story is and in my opinion should be, slow so you can have time to take it all in.

  • A Work in Progress by Conor Franta

22886113

GREAT MEMOIR! Aesthetically pleasing – pictures and cover and design (A+), Beautiful writing (A+), Storytelling and the meaning behind the whole book (A+) !! Just such a lovely read filled with the struggles of a small town boy who’s trying to find his place in the world. (Don’t let the whole YOUTUBERS MAKE BOOKS THE WHOLE TIME fool you this was an excellent book)

  • A Murder in Time by Julie McElwain

25790952

I read this book in the period of when my obsession with profiling and criminology was at its peak and as a fan of Criminal Minds and so many other criminal tv shows I HAVE SO ENJOYED THIS BOOK. Not only is it action packed, it’s mysterious and such an interesting read. The first book of the author and I SO WANT THIS BOOK TO BECOME POPULAR CAUSE ITS DESERVER TO BE READ.

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

16096824

SO WANNA MARRY THIS BOOK. Soooo hot so mysterious and soooo tense and heated like damnnnnnnnnnn. Sarah J Maas knows her romances and plot twists. A definite fantasy MUST READ for everyone.
(Currently reading the second book A Court of Mist and Fury and HOLY SMOKES ITS SO GOOD EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE IF THAT’S POSSIBLE!!)

  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

15798673

BEAUTIFUL.
Utterly beautiful.

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

9460487

WHY DID IT TAKE ME SO LONG TO PICK THIS UP???? It’s so good. Adventure, mystery, has the PERFECT Tim Bruton vibe (surprise HE DIRECTED THE MOVIE ADAPTATION, which in my opinion was just amazingly well done).
Definitely, plan on reading the second book as soon as possible.

  • Lady Killer by Joelle Jones (illustrator) & Jamie S. Rich

23995491

I mean. Do I even have to explain myself? Beautiful smart everyday housewife in the sexist 60s, who’s a paid assassin overnight.
Great graphic novel, can’t wait for more.

  • Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

121121

FINALLY, HANNA HAS ENTERED THE HARRY POTTER FANDOM. I know I know, kill me like just end my misery but I haven’t read the whole series yet. As little I wasn’t all that much into books mostly cause I couldn’t afford them, and cause I didn’t have amazing parents to guide me into the HP world (don’t worry mom and dad, I forgive youXD).
I don’t think there needs to be much explanation behind this one, continuing the series into 2017 and hopefully finishing it too :-))

  • The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

18698869

This is a book I read at the end of this year, so recently, and I so so so loved it. How can something be so dark and sad yet so beautiful and full of life?
This book will definitely stick with me after I’ve read it. So many words I still haven’t swallowed. So many things left unsaid and undone.
It’s was brilliant in so many ways. A must read.

Alright well those are my favourite books of 2016, looking forward to all the amazing books I have yet to read in 2017!

Best wishes for the coming year! Don’t let anyone bring you down! Make your dreams come true!

-Hanna Banana xx

Leave a Reply

